Snickerdoodles

July 20, 2008 at 4:16 pm 9 comments

I’ve never heard of snickerdoodles before. Apparently, it’s more of an American cookie, but I love cinnamon, and after reading about these on BakingBites, it was pretty hard to resist. I HAD TO MAKE THEM. I mean, it’s CINNAMON SUGAR COATED, what’s there not to love about these?

BakingBites used a Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles recipe from AllRecipes. It has 1,700+ reviews to date and is hitting pretty close to 5 stars, which is an amazing rating.

Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles
from AllRecipes

I halved the below recipe, and managed to make about 40 cookies which are 2″ each. My revisions are in green.

Ingredients
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup shortening, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp white sugar (I used 3 tbsp)
2 tsp ground cinnamon (I used 3 tsp)

Procedure (I changed the steps a bit. You could see the original at all recipes.)

1. Preheat oven to 200C. Line baking sheets with parchment.

2. Whisk together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl. Set aside.

3. Cream together butter and shortening until smooth. Slowly add in the sugar. Mix in the egg until incorporated, then beat in the vanilla.

4. Slowly add in the flour mixture, stirring it in using a wooden spoon until a dough is formed.

5. Mix the 3 tbsp of sugar and the 3 tsp of cinnamon together in a small bowl or sandwich bag.

6. Roll the dough into 1″ balls, toss them in the cinnamon sugar mixture, and place them 2″ apart on prepared baking sheets (cookies will spread). You can also used an ungreased cookie sheet, but mine stuck just a tiny bit, and you’ll need a spatula to scrape them off. If the dough is too soft or sticky (it’s way too hot here), place the bowl in the freezer for 10 mins, it’ll be much easier to work with.


cinnamon sugar mixture

ready to pop into the oven

7. Bake for 8-10 mins (I baked them for 8 mins, I like the slightly chewy centre), then remove the whole piece of parchment onto a wire rack to cool. The snickerdoodles will be soft when they come out of the oven, but will set once they cool down. You could also let them rest for a few minutes on the cookie sheet before removing the snickerdoodles onto a wire rack to cool.

8. Store in an airtight container.


they are rather flat cookies


delicious chewy centre and crisp edges

I really love these snickerdoodles. It’s a sugary, buttery cookie without any distractions of chocolate, raisins, nuts or whatever. Okay, even though I admit that I do love my chocolate, raisins, almonds and all. Having a snickerdoodle occasionally doesn’t hurt though. And they do sound cute. Snickerdoodle!

Entry filed under: Baked, Cookies. Tags: .

Blueberry Cheesecake Bakery Style Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Muffins

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susan  |  July 22, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    snickerdoodles have long been my favorite cookie. while i understand the “nothing added” idea, they are quite delicious with toffee bits added. happy eating

  • 2. ovenhaven  |  July 22, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    These look lovely :) I’ve never tried snickerdoodles myself, but have always heard of them. Seeing your photos makes me wanna try it out!

  • 3. Bronte  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Yummm, i looove snickdoodless. One of my favorite cookies to eat and bake!
    I love the baking bites blog, i think i may head over there and pick up that recipe my self.
    ooh by the way…i LOVE your pictures, their really great! <3

  • 4. Joan  |  July 23, 2008 at 11:48 am

    The recipe is in Betty Crocker’s Picture Cook Book (1950), and the intro says, “Pat Roth of our Staff said, ‘It’s one of my happy childhood memories. My mother would be baking when we came home from school and we would have Snickerdoodles hot out of the oven with a glass of milk.'”

    So who knows how long before 1950 those cookies were around?

    The only difference between Betty’s and this one is that Betty didn’t include the vanilla. And called for all shortening instead of half shortening and half butter.

    When I make them I use all butter.

  • 5. jamie  |  July 23, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    These look great – back in the day, KDKA in Pgh. sold these as a fundraiser for Children’s Hospital and called them “farkleberry cookies”!

    I just made a batch with a recipe that didn’t use cream of tartar for some reason – they weren’t very good.

  • 6. Jeanine  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    These are the snickerdoodles I make. My husband loves them. They are a nice simple cookie, but so delicious!!

  • 7. Michele  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Snickerdoodles are also one of my favorite cookies. I remember my mom making them when I was little.

    Have you ever tried Chocolate Crinkles? They are made with chocolate dough rolled in powdered sugar. Very yummy!
    http://www.joyofbaking.com/ChocolateCrinkles.html

  • 8. WenTong  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Michele – I’ve never tried Chocolate Crinkles (haven’t heard of them before in Singapore), but they look sooooo good. And I’ve got a block of semi sweet sitting in my fridge… Hmmmmm…

  • 9. Jane  |  November 1, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    heeeey.
    I’ve been looking for a cookie that is rolled in sugar for a while now. O:
    I think I’ll make some tomorrow. after my Physics homework. <3
    ty for sharing~

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Flickr

hellooo

Cookies

Cookies

Tomato Mushroom Cream Linguine

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

