Dulce de Leche

September 11, 2008 at 10:11 pm 16 comments

My workplace introduced a series of US cakes to the dessert line up recently. There are 7 cakes, and there was one which particularly caught my attention – Dulce de Leche Cheesecake.

After looking up Dulce de Leche on the internet (I love the internet and I can’t live without it), it sounded like just the thing I would love. I’m a great fan of caramel, and homemade Dulce de Leche seemed too easy to resist.

Now, I saw many which had the instructions “Boil a can of condensed milk”. I’m a chicken. I’ve got no guts to do that, however much assured that it will not explode. Nuh uh. I went for the method of boiling half a litre of milk with some sugar and a pinch of baking soda until I got nice, carmelised colour.

I used this to top Dorie Greenspan’s Classic Tall and Creamy Cheesecake which I had made earlier on in the day (forgot about photos). Pretty damn tasty imo.

Entry filed under: Non Baked, Sauces & Creams. Tags: .

Strawberry Semifreddo Vanilla Vanilla Cupcakes

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jules  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:56 am

    I’ll have to try this as I’m scared of the whole “boiling a can of condensed method”!

  • 2. sugdew  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:51 am

    it’s great that you had success, but what where the exact proportions?

  • 3. Gabriela  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:59 am

    Yum.

  • 4. dianabanana  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:46 am

    i’ve boiled a can of condensed milk about 6 times. on approximately the 3rd time, i, like an idiot, FELL ASLEEP in my studio apartment and woke up to an explosion, the fire alarm, tons of smoke and 1/2 of my floor, walls and ceiling sprayed with dulce de leche. it took 5 hours to clean, which was torturous because my arms were already sore from fanning the smoke away from the shrieking smoke alarm. (which still screamed despite the fact that i took both batteries out of it!)

    however, i braved the can-boiling again, several times, making sure that there was always water covering the can. (and more importantly, not to go anywhere near my comfy bed!) it’s really not so bad…

  • 5. shivya  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Looks yum! I love the coffee at starbucks. Pretty sure I’ll love the dessert!
    *mouth waters*

  • 6. Just Cook It  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Love this stuff. And it’s so easy to make as well

  • 7. stevelowton  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Wow this looks great!

    My daughter and I are aspiring amateurs in the kitchen. Great site/blog. You really use such great vocabulary and great images.

    PS Do NOT worry about the boiling the can of condensed milk. It works every time. We do taht trick when we are making Banoffee Pie. You must remeber though to use the whole fat stuff an don’t the ‘lite’ version.

    Steve Lowton

  • 8. jewaira  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Mmmm, looks tasty

  • 9. WenTong  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Jules – Yes it’s not as tough as I thought, and it’s easier to control the colour as well!

    Sugdew – I used 500ml whole milk (approx 2 cups), 120g sugar, 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda and 1 tsp vanilla essence. But you could adjust the sugar to your own preference! I don’t really like super sweet things and this was alright for me. (:

    Grabriela – Yup it was yummy!

    Dianabanana – Your story is funny, even though I’m sure it wasn’t funny when it happened to you. Maybe I’ll try boiling a can of condensed milk the next time…

    Shivya – This was great with cheesecake. Mmmm coffee… Sounds excellent as well…

    Just Cook It – It was love at first taste for me… Haha.

    Stevelowton – Thanks! (: I’m gathering the courage to boil my first can of condensed milk/

    Jewaira – Yes it is tasty!

  • 10. pictoword  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    wow this sounds fantastic on top of cheesecake. not the best way to start out a day at work – hungry :(

  • 11. cherylpoo  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Hi. Came across your blog. Great site. Will be attempting some of your dishes.
    -cherylpoo.blogspot.com

  • 12. Susan  |  September 17, 2008 at 1:16 am

    I like your method better using fresh whole milk. The problem with making it with canned condensed milk..is that it still tastes like canned milk. It has that slighly funky canned flavor that both evaporated and condensed milk have.

    There is an alternate (read safer) method using the condensed milk. Check David Lebovitz’s site for the recipe. It works perfectly and your peace of mind is intact! Though it still tastes like canned!

  • 13. shargisrmm  |  September 17, 2008 at 2:09 am

    In response to dianabanana:
    September 16, 2008 at 10:46 am
    i’ve boiled a can of condensed milk about 6 times. on approximately the 3rd time, i, like an idiot, FELL ASLEEP in my studio apartment and woke up to an explosion, the fire alarm, tons of smoke and 1/2 of my floor, walls and ceiling sprayed with dulce de leche.”

    So funny! I did the exact same thing- when I awoke to the fire alarm screaming, I walked into the kitchen to see one of the cans spinning and shooting carmel in a circular fashion all over my kitchen. Took forever to get it cleaned up- I was so disappointed as I had watched my mother do this for years and her’s always turned out marvelous.

  • 14. meserod  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Growing up my mother would make us dulce de leche by boiling a can of condensed milk and it always turned out awesome!

  • 15. ladyironchef  |  September 18, 2008 at 12:19 am

    wow, how come i never hear you mentioning that you got your own food blog!! haha. great stuff, keep them coming : )

  • 16. sugdew  |  September 18, 2008 at 3:23 am

    thanks, tong!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Flickr

hellooo

Cookies

Cookies

Tomato Mushroom Cream Linguine

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

